NEWS AND ACTIVITIES OF THE SOCIETY

Annual General Meeting

At the 14th Annual General Meeting held on Thursday, 1 October 1981, at 4.00 p.m. in Lecture Theatre 23, Faculty of Science, National University of Singapore, Kent Ridge, the Society elected the following officials for 1981:

President : Prof. Peng Tsu Ann

Vice Presidents : Mr. Chan Kai Yau

Prof. Lee Peng Yee Prof. Malcolm Wicks

Secretary : Prof. Louis H.Y. Chen

Treasurer : Dr. Chang Boon Chong

Editor : Dr. Cheng Kai Nah

Assistant Secretary : Dr. Leong Yu Kiang

Assistant Editors : Mr. Chan Sing Chun

Dr. Tan Sie Keng

Committee Members : Prof. Chew Kim Lin

Dr. Chong Chi Tat Dr. Kho Teck Hong Dr. Shee Sze Chin

Dr. Peter Tung was elected Honorary Auditor.

Lectures

Two lectures were organized during the year 1981:

Date	Title Title	Speaker
	Hausdorff's Paradox — or Two for One	Professor Eric. C. Milner – University of Calgary and National University of Singapore
	Some Amazing Properties of the Function $f(x) = x^2$	Professor David M. Gold- schmidt — University of California, Berkeley and National University of Singapore.

International Mathematical Conference

An International Mathematical Conference was held at the Kent Ridge Campus of the National University of Singapore from 1 to 13 June 1981. The Conference was jointly organized by the Singapore Mathematical Society and the Department of Mathematics, National University of Singapore, under the sponsorship of UNESCO, the International Mathematical Union (IMU), the Mathematical Society of Japan (MSJ), the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society (SEAMS), the Lee Foundation, Shell Eastern Petroleum (Pte) Ltd., the National University of Singapore and National Kap (Pte) Ltd. Professors J.W.S. Cassels, S.S. Chern, B.H. Neumann (IMU), Professors K. Ito, Y. Kawada (MSJ) and Professor W.S. Tan (SEAMS) were the advisors to the Organizing Committee. The objective of the Conference was to promote mathematical research in Southeast Asia and to help mathematicians in this region to keep abreast of the recent advances in mathematics.

The first part of the Conference consisted of two workshops, one in ring theory and homological algebra and one in probability theory. The workshops were followed by a general conference. Professor Lim Pin, Vice-Chancellor of the National University of Singapore, officiated at the opening of the general conference.

The following twelve eminent mathematicians were the invited speakers at the Conference:

- D. L. Burkholder, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
- J. W. S. Cassels, University of Cambridge,
- P. Erdős, Hungarian Academy of Sciences,
- M. Fukushima, Osaka University,
- B. Hartley, University of Manchester,
- T. Hida, Nagoya University,
- N. Iwahori, Tokyo University,
- H. Matsumura, Nagoya University,
- E. C. Milner, University of Calgary,
- H. Nagao, Osaka University,
- M. Nagata, Kyoto University,
- B. H. Neumann, Institute of Advanced Studies, ANU.

Professors Burkholder, Fukushima, Hida, Matsumura and Nagata conducted the workshops and all the invited speakers each gave a one-hour address at the general conference. The addresses at the general conference were on topics in ring theory and homological algebra, probability theory, group theory, combinatorics and number theory.

A total of 132 participants from 16 countries attended the Conference. Most of the participants were from the Asean countries. In addition to the invited addresses, 30 contributed papers were presented by the participants at the general conference.

The organizing committee consisted of

Chairman : Peng Tsu Ann

Co-Chairman : Teh Hoon Heng

Secretary : Louis H.Y. Chen

Assistant : Lai Choy Heng Secretaries : Leong Yu Kiang

Treasurer : Koh Khee Meng

Members : Chew Kim Lin

Chong Chi Tat Lee Peng Yee Malcolm J. Wicks

and the sub-committees comprised

Accommodation: Cheng Kai Nah Chan Gin Hor

Lee Peng Yee Ng Peng Nung

Finance : Teh Hoon Heng Peng Tsu Ann

Malcolm J. Wicks

Hospitality : Malcolm J. Wicks Chow Yoong Ming Lam Lay Yong

Wan Fook Sun

Programmes : Stephen T.L. Choy Chen Chuan Chong

Leong Yu Kiang R. Subramanian Woo Kai Yuen

R. Subramanian

Woo Kai Yuen

Publications : Lee Peng Yee Chong Chi Tat
Ling Kiong Doong

Ng Tze Beng

Public Relations: Louis H.Y. Chen Koh Khee Meng Leonard Y.H. Yap

Leonard Y.H. Yap

Registration : Tan Sie Keng Chang Boon Chong Lai Choy Heng

Lim Chee Seng

Transport Shee Sze Chin Chan Kai Meng

Peter C.T. Tung S.J. Wilson Yap Kim Yew

Mathematical Logic Conference

The First Southeast Asian Conference in Mathematical Logic was held at the Faculty of Science from 9 to 12 November 1981. Professor Huang Hsing Hua, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, officiated at the opening ceremony. This was the first meeting ever held in the region focussing on the various aspects of mathematical logic and theoretical computer science. It was jointly organized by the Department of Mathematics and the Singapore Mathematical Society, and received sponsorship and support from two international organizations: the Association for Symbolic Logic and the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science, Division for Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science. The Organizing Committee consisted of Professor Malcolm Wicks (Chairman), Dr Chong Chi Tat (Secretary), Professor Teh Hoon Heng, and Professor John Crossley of Monash University.

There were about 40 registered participants from the ASEAN countries, Japan, China, Australia, New Zealand and the United States. Two workshops, one in model theory and one in recursion theory, were held during the Conference. The invited speakers were among the world's leading experts in the field of mathematical logic. These included Professors John Crossley, Manuel Lerman (University of Connecticut), Anil Nerode (Cornell University), Angus McIntyre (Yale University) and Gerald Sacks (Harvard University and MIT).

The Meeting coincided with Professor Sacks's visit to Singapore at the invitation of the Department of Mathematics. In addition to giving several lectures on mathematical logic, Professor Sacks also gave a talk on Harvard University's graduate studies in mathematics, and participated in a departmental discussion on mathematics curriculum.

Inter-School Mathematical Competition 1981

The Inter-School Mathematical Competition 1981 organized jointly by the Department of Mathematics, National University of Singapore and the Society was held on 4 July 1981. A total of 127 students from 23 junior colleges and secondary schools participated. The results were as follows:

Team Results

Position	School	Team Members
Professors E	Hwa Chong Junior College	Ling San Lee Seng Hwang Loh Wing Wah
2	Raffles Institution	Rajesh Ramchand Parwani Phoon Kok Kwang Chan Yuen Chuen
	Temasek Junior College	Ang Kiang Seng Kuan Dah Fong Tay Ying Sung
3	Hwa Chong Junior College	Chan Wing Chong Lam Chih Tsung Ramah Sutardja

The Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge Shield was awarded to Hwa Chong Junior College. Each member of the above four winning teams received a book voucher.

Individual Results

Position	Competitor	School
1 4 14	Ling San	Hwa Chong Junior College
2	Rajesh Ramchand Parwani	Raffles Institution
3	David Ling Leong Hui	National Junior College
4	Lam Chih Tsung	Hwa Chong Junior College
5	Ang Kian Seng	Temasek Junior College

Ling San received the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society Prize of \$250. Rajesh Ramchand Parwani received \$150, and David Ling Leong Hui, Lam Chih Tsung and Ang Kian Seng received \$125, \$100 and \$75 respectively. Each of these successful competitors also received a book voucher.

The Prize-giving Ceremony took place on 1 September 1981. Professor David Goldschmidt of University of California, Berkeley and National University of Singapore gave away the prizes.